Within our Smithfield Google Apps system, Documents and Files that you create in your Google Drive are NOT shared and are only accessible by you. When sharing a document, you can assign specific privileges to different people and manage what they have permission to do. For example, you can choose to allow a colleague to "Edit" a Document and only allow your students to be able to "View" the Document.
Besides the "Owner" of the Document, there are three different levels of sharing privileges you can choose from:
Can View: A viewer can see the latest version of the document, export the document, and make a copy of the document. A viewer cannot make any changes.
When you share your Document and invite people (see the instructions in "Day 4 - Sharing a Document", you can select from one of these specific levels of privileges. You can also change a person's level of privileges at any time (just in case someone lets the power go to their head).